Events

May 2017
Thu May 25
345pm - 445pm
Celebrate Ramadan @ Main
Sat May 27
930am - 1230pm
What's In Your Bowl? Fruit!
Sat May 27
10am - 6pm
POOL OPEN 10am-6pm
Sun May 28
10am - 6pm
POOL OPEN 10am-6pm
Mon May 29
10am - 6pm
POOL OPEN 10am-6pm
June 2017
Sat Jun 3
9am - 12pm
Shrinking Shores
Sat Jun 3
10am - 6pm
POOL OPEN 10am-6pm
Sun Jun 4
10am - 6pm
POOL OPEN 10am-6pm
Mon Jun 5
12pm - 1pm
Hearing Screening and Session
Wed Jun 7
830am - 9am
Stormwater Management Training
Thu Jun 8
830am - 9am
Stormwater Management Training
Thu Jun 8
330pm - 430pm
Introduction To T'ai Chi
Sat Jun 10
7am - 2pm
Compost Giveaway
Sat Jun 10
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Sat Jun 10
11am - 1145am
Summer Reading Kickoff: The Wacko Magic and Comedy Show @ Main
Sat Jun 10
1pm - 5pm
Summer Reading Kickoff: Library Luau @ Main
Sat Jun 10
2pm - 3pm
Gardening Workshops
Sun Jun 11
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Mon Jun 12
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Tue Jun 13
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Wed Jun 14
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Wed Jun 14
7pm - 8pm
Mindful Meditation
Thu Jun 15
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Fri Jun 16
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Sat Jun 17
930am - 1pm
Master Gardeners at the Market
Sat Jun 17
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Sat Jun 17
11am - 4pm
Juneteenth Celebration @ Pico Branch
Sun Jun 18
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Mon Jun 19
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Tue Jun 20
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Wed Jun 21
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Thu Jun 22
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm
Fri Jun 23
10am - 7pm
POOL OPEN 10am-7pm

Hot Topics

 cookbook

Volunteers

Volunteers are vital to the operations of the Santa Monica Farmers Markets and are greatly appreciated.  Volunteers are asked to commit to a minimum of six months and 36 hours of service. Volunteers perform a wide variety of tasks at the Farmers Market Information Booths as well as special projects:

  • VolunteersSet up the information booth table and signs
  • Answer customer inquiries
  • Run the EBT Machine and distribute scrip for food stamps
  • Direct customers in search of specific vendors or products
  • Collect and organize paperwork at the end of the market
  • Special projects and outreach 

How to Apply

If you are interested in applying to volunteer at any of the four farmers markets, please complete and return the Volunteer Application to jodi.low@smgov.net or fax 310-391-9996.  For more information about volunteering contact us at 310.458.8712 x 5.

Skills Needed

  • Testimonial BillAble to commit to a regular schedule. Shifts are available weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly for 3-4 hours per shift.
  • Reliable
  • Responsible
  • Excellent customer service skills
  • Strong communication skills
  • Comfortable working with a wide variety of people
  • Enjoy working outdoors

Education Volunteer

Education Volunteer Responsibilities Include:

  • Shop for produce at the Wednesday Downtown Farmers Market
  • Assist in preparing samples and salads for market field trip classes to K-2nd grade students
  • Assist in teaching / independently teaching 20-minute presentations to K-2nd grade students (up to 25 students per class, 3 classes per day)
  • Assist in cleaning, breaking down booth, and making suggestions for following week’s class

 

How to Apply

If you are interested in applying as an education volunteer, please complete and return the Volunteer Application to farmersmarket@smgov.net or fax 310-391-9996. For more information about volunteering contact us at 310.458.8712 x 3.

Qualifications:

  • Minimum 10 hours per month for 6 months or more between February 2016 and July 2017.
  • Must be available Wednesdays from 8:00 am - 12 pm and/or Thursdays 2:30 pm - 5:30 pm.
  • College age or above
  • Excellent verbal and written communication skills
  • Responsible and reliable
  • Excellent computer skills
  • Ability to work independently as well as with a team
  • Enthusiasm for Farmers Markets, small farmers and locally grown produce, social media, marketing, education and environmental sustainability
Last updated: 9/8/2016

Market Schedule


Open Rain or Shine
Year-round

Market Closures

Saturday Downtown 11-26-16
Sunday 12-25-16
Sunday 01-01-17

Wednesday Downtown

Arizona Avenue
(between 4th & Ocean)
8:30am - 1:30pm

Saturday Downtown

Arizona Avenue
(between 4th and 2nd Streets)
8:00am - 1:00pm

Saturday Virginia Ave. Park

2200 Virginia Avenue
(Pico Blvd. @ Cloverfield Blvd.)
8:00am - 1:00pm

Sunday Main St.

2640 Main Street
(in Heritage Square)
8:30am-1:30pm

 Reminders

Bring Your Own Bag (BYOB)!

We Accept
CalFresh

WICLogo

Market Match

No animals are allowed in Farmers Markets (CRFC 114371(d))

What is a service animal?

 

City of Santa Monica © 2017

1685 Main St., Santa Monica, CA 90401 · (310) 458-8411 · TTY (310) 917-6626