Search Backing Santa-Monica-PublicWorks-Civil-Engineering
Public Works Home

Main Engineering Office
1437 4th Street, Ste. 300
Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone: (310) 458-8721
Fax: (310) 393-4425
E-mail: sm.engineering@smgov.net

Permit Center
1685 Main Street, Rm. 113
Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone: (310) 458-8737
E-mail: pwpermits@smgov.net

Hours
Mon – Thurs, 8 AM to 5 PM
Alternating Fridays, 8 AM to 5 PM
Click here to see which Fridays City Hall is open

 

Go Santa Monica
   

Clean Beaches Project for Pier Drainage Basin  

 

Project Description

To improve beach water quality and increase the City's drought resiliency, Santa Monica will construct a concrete subgrade stormwater runoff storage tank north of the Pier beneath the Deauville site. This tank will be used to harvest runoff from the Pier Downtown drainage basin. The harvested runoff will then be diverted for treatment at the Santa Monica Urban Runoff Recycling Facility (SMURRF) and distributed for non-potable uses. Overflows from the tank will be discharged into the sanitary sewer system.  

 
  Clean Beaches
 

Project Benefit

The primary benefit of this project is cleaner water at our local beaches. The project will divert approximately 1.6 million gallons of runoff from the Pier 1 Downtown drainage basin away from the Santa Monica Bay. The result is reduced water pollution attributable to runoff discharges.

A secondary benefit of this project is the added water resource. Harvested runoff from the outfall will be treated at the SMURRF and distributed for non-potable uses such as irrigation and toilet flushing.

 

Project Funding

Approximately $3.7 million of the total cost is being funded by the State Water Resources Control Board Clean Beaches Initiative Grant Program. The remainder of the project is funded by the Santa Monica Clean Beaches and Ocean Parcel Tax and Santa Monica Olympic Settlement funds.

 

Project Schedule & Construction Updates

Project design will commence in FY2015/16. Construction will begin in Fall of 2017.
February 2018 Construction Notice

 

Grantor Contacts

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

Grant Manager: Spencer Joplin            spencer.joplin@waterboards.ca.gov          (916) 341-5636
Program Analyst: Michele Stebbins      michele.stebbins@waterboards.ca.gov      (916) 458-5665
QA Manager: Renee Spears                
renee.spears@waterboards.ca.gov

Grantee Contacts

CITY OF SANTA MONICA

Project Director: Susan Cline          susan.cline@smgov.net          (310) 458-8221
Project Manager: Rick Valte           
rick.valte@smgov.net             (310) 458-8721
Project Engineer: Selim Eren          
selim.eren@smgov.net            (310) 458-8721
QA Manager: Tom Watson              
tom.watson@smgov.net         (310) 458-8224 
Construction Manager: Jason Hoang    Jason.hoang@smgov.net             (310)  458-2201 x5385

 

Links

Feasibility Study

  1550 Lot
City of Santa Monica © 2019

1685 Main St., Santa Monica, CA 90401 · (310) 458-8411 · TTY (310) 917-6626