Search Backing oil barrells
Office of Sustainability and the Environment
Food Sustainable Food
Reading & Resources

Food Myth Busters: The Real Story about What We Eat. foodmyths.org

Cool Cuisine: Take a Bite out of Global Warming by Laura Stec with Eugene Cordero, Ph.D. http://www.globalwarmingdiet.org/ 

Diet for a Hot Planet: The climate crisis at the end of your fork and what you can do about it by Anna Lappe http://www.smallplanet.org/books/diet-for-a-hot-planet 

Food Rules, In Defense of Food, & The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan http://michaelpollan.com/

Closing the Food Gap: Resetting the table in the land of plenty by Mark Winne http://www.markwinne.com/

Diet for a New America: How Your Food Choices Affect Your Health, Happiness and the Future of Life on Earth & The Food Revolution: How Your Diet Can Help Save Your Life and Our World by John Robbins http://www.johnrobbins.info/

Food Politics & What to Eat by Marion Nestle http://www.foodpolitics.com

Stuffed and Starved by Raj Patel http://rajpatel.org/

Civil Eats Blog http://civileats.com/

La Vida Locavore Blog http://www.lavidalocavore.org/

The Ethicurean Blog http://www.ethicurean.com/

Grist Food Blog http://www.grist.org/kingdom/food

Recipe For America  by Jill Richardson

Sustainable Table Website

Food and Water Watch Website

Organic Consumers Association Website

Slow Food USA Website 

Union of Concerned Scientists Website http://www.ucsusa.org/food_and_agriculture/

WHY Hunger Food Security Learning Center Website

Center for Food Safety True Food Network Website

        

Sustainable Works Residential and Business Greening Program Residential program offers a series of sustainable living workshops that cover sustainable food and food system issues. Business program offers technical assistance to city businesses to increase their resource efficiency and "green their bottom line". http://www.sustainableworks.org

Green Business Certification Program Recognizes businesses that are adopting green practices that reduce environmental impact, includes purchasing local, organic, and fair trade foods and sustainable fish. http://smgbc.org

More City of Santa Monica Green Business Programs

Last updated: Monday, 07/27/2015
City of Santa Monica © 2018

Santa Monica Office of Sustainability and the Environment
1685 Main St., Santa Monica, CA 90401 · (310) 458-2213 · TTY (310) 917-6626